Autumn
Place of Birth: Chicago, Illinois
Current Residence: Poughkeepsie, New York aka “upstate NY”
Profession: I teach biology/anatomy & physiology at a community college.
Favourite Footy Team: #1 has to be NY Magpies (though I did start out as an Arizona Lady Hawk)
How did you get involved in footy?: A friend asked if I’d like to run and kick balls in the blaz’n Arizona sun…sounded like fun! After practice pool parties helped in the cool down.
What do you like most about footy?: Friends, fitness, it’s fast paced, and footy festivities!
Position: Back pocket
Aspirations: To sing the club anthem at Nationals
Favourite Drink: Seven and Seven
Favourite Food: Mom’s potato salad
Favourite Movie: Raiders of the Lost Ark
Most Favourite Thing: My pseudo-roommates in NYC. Withouth their couch and kindness, I wouldn’t be able to hang out with friends or participate in footy as much as I do.
Random Pieces of Info: The scientific name (genus and species) of the gorilla is Gorilla gorilla and the scientific name of the pyralid moth is La cerveza.

Place of Birth:  Queens, NYimage
Current Residence: Somewhere on a Long Island.
Profession:  Special Education Mathematics Teacher
Favorite Footy Team:  The Magpies, duh
How did you get involved in footy?:  Once Melo told me he played, I knew this was something I had to see. Of course, he wouldn’t allow me to watch unless it was while I was practicing on the field with them. I was hooked. Being able to tackle as a form of stress releasing therapy seemed like a sweet deal…the rest was history.
What do you like most about footy?:  Play hard, party hard!
Position:  Anywhere I can lay a massive shepherd.
Aspirations:  Stunt woman in the next Tomb Raider movie.
Favorite Drink:  Homemade lemonade
Favorite Food:  Pineapple shrimp with fried rice
Favorite Movie:  Wall-e
Most Favorite Things: Turtles, the YouTube clip of Treadmill Fail, and Dos Equis’ most interesting man in the world.
Random Piece of Info:  Was a firedancer for the New York Dragons, plus I got to shoot the t-shirt cannon.

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 10.52.08 AMPlace of Birth: Toronto, Ontario
Current Residence: Brooklyn, NY
Favorite Footy Team: Brisbane Lions
What do you like most about footy?The spirit – the aggression, the all in, the rush!
Position: Anywhere I’m tackling
Aspirations: To tackle you in the near future
Favorite Drink: Tequila & Ginger
Favorite Food: Mexican
Favorite Show: Homeland!
Most Favorite Thing: My Lady Pies <3
Random Piece of Info: I will make you the best roasted marshmallow you’ve ever put in your face.

Melissa was recently named Vice Captain for the 2014 season. Congrats, Mel!

JanetPlace of Birth: Midland, Michigan
Current Residence: A basement in South Brooklyn
Profession: Hopefully, this will say High School History Teacher really soon.
Favourite Footy Team: North Melbourne
How did you get involved in footy?: I lived in Melbourne as a kid and then we moved (back) to the U.S. and my dad got involved in the USAFL. I moved to Brooklyn last summer and found out that these awesome women had a team and immediately jumped on that wagon.
What do you like most about footy?: Is it too cheesy for me to say “everything!”…? Because I love everything.
Position: I just want to play! But… I’ll tentatively say Full Forward.
Aspirations: I aspire to have a real job so I can spend more time playing footy and less time putting pieces of fruit on sticks into Edible Arrangements.
Favourite Drink: Water! And coffee.
Favourite Food: I like to eat as long as it isn’t meat.
Favourite Movie: Picking a favorite movie is like the day of the week. It’s always changing. But I love Planet Earth and my Presidents documentaries series from PBS.
Most Favourite Thing: I have two dogs who I love more than life.
Random Piece of Info: I sleep in a hammock and it’s amazing.

Switch to our mobile site