Who Are the Magpies


The New York Magpies are an amateur Australian Rules Football Club based in New York City.  Founded in 1998, the Magpies are dedicated to growing football in New York and across the USA.

The New York Magpies are an affiliate of the Collingwood Football Club, who recently won the 2010 AFL premiership, and the Port Adelaide Magpies in the SANFL.

The New York Magpies compete in the United States Australian Football League (USAFL).  The USAFL consists of three major geographic conferences across North America with the NY Magpies vying annually for the Eastern American Football League (EAFL) title.  The season culminates each year with all the teams across the USA competing for the National Championship in a two day tournament with four men’s divisions and one Women’s pool.

Game Development and the 50/50 rule

The league in the United States is designed to be as inclusive as possible. To this end one of the founding rules in the US are that North American players must account for at least 50% of the players on the field at any one time. This rule ensures the game is welcoming to any new players regardless of skill and experience.


The season typically runs from March through mid-October each year, with games played both locally and nationally. In addition to its contests against other members of the EAFL:  Boston, Philadelphia, North Carolina, Baltimore/ Washington and Florida, New York has travelled to a number of cities including Austin, TX; Tampa, FL; Las Vegas, NV; Denver / Colorado Springs, CO; Chicago, IL; Atlanta, GA; Milwaukee, WI; Cincinnati, OH; Louisville, KY, Kansas City, MO; and Pittsburgh, PA in the past.


The players who make up the Magpies are a diverse group, mixing locals and Aussie expatriates alike.  Ranging in age from 16 – 50 and from numerous countries, there are college students, employees from Fortune 100 companies, lawyers, bankers, accountants and many, many others. The Magpies are open to anyone who wants to play the game and have a great time.  So if you’re interested please contact recruitment@nyfooty.com.

The welcoming nature of the Club is reflected in the growth of the women’s team, which was established in 2008 and competes for the National Championships alongside the men’s team.


The Magpies players also participate in the New York City Australian Football League (NYCAFL), an intra club competition designed to promote and develop new players to the game as well as foster camaraderie and friendship. The NYCAFL is part of the club’s development program and features four teams; Hudson River Rats, Village Bohemians Times Square Tourists and the Suburban Tollmen.


The Magpies are a very successful club winning the following titles:
– 2010 UASFL Division 1 National Championship
– 2010 USAFL Division 4 National Championship
– 2010 EAFL Championship
– 2009 EAFL Championship
– 2006 EAFL Championship
– 2005 EAFL Championship
– 2004 EAFL Championship
– 2004 USAFL Division 1 National Runner Up


The Magpies will continue to strive for success, both on and off the ground, pursuing National Championships and the growth of the club and the game of Australian Rules Football in the USA.  During 2010 the Magpies also strengthened its partnership with Collingwood with the aim of further growing the Magpies brand internationally.

Switch to our mobile site